The cheats you unlock for completing a certain number of challenges.

They say that saving will be disabled if they're turned on, but I was wondering if saving gets re-enabled after you turn them off or do you actually have to restart the game?

I'm curious because I wanna use the God mode cheat to take out the legendary ships and then turn the cheat off after I'm done. I don't wanna do it if the saving is turned off completely and only turned back on with a restart.