Headset trouble

This is a discussion on Headset trouble within the General PS3 Discussion forum, part of the Everything PlayStation; So I finally caved and bought a headset. It's only a 9.99 piece of shit, but it had good reviews. ...

Lvl 6 - Silver

Headset trouble

So I finally caved and bought a headset. It's only a 9.99 piece of shit, but it had good reviews. It's the Gioteck EX-01.

Just wondering are headsets meant to sometimes drop out so you can't hear anything? I have never used one before so I have no idea if this is normal. Basically one minute I can hear people and they can hear me, and sometimes half way through a conversation I would drop out [like a phone call with no signal? probably the best way I can describe it].I have read that this particular headset might have trouble with wireless net, but wired isn't an option for me.

I know I should have probably invested in a *better* more expensive headset, but I didn't, so I will have to make do.... Any suggestions for this or is this just a dud and I should send it back for a new one...

Thanks guys
    PSN ID: nookie_egg [GMT]
    Feel free to add me if you want, just send me a message that you're from here and what you are interested in boosting if necessary BUT PLEASE, NO BLANK FRIEND REQUESTS.
    Boosting online trophies of:
    NFS THE RUN [co-op], BIOSHOCK 2 [level 40]
    Thanks to EVERYONE who helps boosting sessions!
    [

PRO Member

My old bluetooth that I sed to use did this, but my new headset does not so idk. Maybe it just depends on what you are using.

Sig by Bladia

PRO Member

How far do you sit from the PS3? If it's too far, you could experience signal drops from the headset where everything would fall silent (like a dropped call). Try moving a little closer and see if that fixes it. Bluetooth typically boasts a 30 ft. range but, in most cases falls short of that.