Earned Trophies being reset to 0?

This is a discussion on Earned Trophies being reset to 0? within the General PS3 Discussion forum, part of the Everything PlayStation; Something short of a horror story I know. I will try to keep the details brief. I started playing Ferrari ...

Lvl 7 - Gold

Earned Trophies being reset to 0?

Something short of a horror story I know. I will try to keep the details brief.

I started playing Ferrari Challange on my original fat60gb. Earned two or three trophies. Lost interest. Not too long ago that ps3 yloded or some stuff. (along with my nearly complete Dj Hero 1,2, KZ2 and CoDWAW saves)

After getting my profile back on my new slim320gb, I decided to come back to it. Noticing that I didn't earn the first trophy I then decided to check and see why.

Trophy support was added in an update. Fine, 70mb later and I can earn trophies. Or not. I read that I had to reset my in-game profile (save data?) to actually earn them, guessing on the new game data version. Done. Look at my trophy list again to see what I have to do and horror, 0% for the game.

I'm not sure if it was updating the game data, or resetting my save data, but somewhere along the line my profile lost the trophies I had earned for the game.

Am I wrong for being scared that this could happen to me for other games, or is this a unique situation because of having to update the game data for trophy support?
    Last edited by zz383; 06-15-2012 at 02:56 PM.
    DIEDIEDIEDIEDIEDIE!

Negator

I think this is only a problem for un-synced trophies. Doing a sync prior to launching a game is the only way I know of to prevent this occurance, even though it is rare. Either way, sorry for your loss.

Avatar & Sig by djunglist care of Digital Terror // Elite TG bar fabricated by Luckay

RPG Master

Helyx is right. If you don't sync your trophies after earning them to the servers and your ps3 implodes it is as if you never earned them.
    Sig by JK_Blade
    Shemhazat's Trophies