Results 1 to 9 of 9

PS3 Question

This is a discussion on PS3 Question within the General PS3 Discussion forum, part of the Everything PlayStation; A while ago I saw on here a thread that told you a way to go to the ps3 boot ...

  1. #1
    Lvl 5 - Silver
    skatingsam96's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    The Hidden Leaf Village
    Posts
    309
    Reputation
    6

    PS3 Question

    A while ago I saw on here a thread that told you a way to go to the ps3 boot menu (I know how to get to the boot menu) and you pick rebuild hard drive or somthing and it made your ps3 run faster and it didn't delete anything except for messages, can someone tell me what it was that you pick to do that?

    Sig by Bladia

  2. #2
    Lvl 3 - Bronze
    Black_Alchemist's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    190
    Reputation
    8

    i think this is what your asking for How To Rebuild A PS3's Database - YouTube

    Created by Prosthetic

    From here on out Blank friend requests will not be acknowledged

  3. #3
    Ghost Assassin
    Danko1900's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Crimson Raiders HQ
    Posts
    828
    Reputation
    13

    1. With the system in standby mode. Press and hold the power button down until the system turns on and then off again. Release the power button. Very important to hold the power button until the console shuts off and to release the power button before continuing to step 2.
    2. After about 1 - 2 seconds press and hold the power button again, until you hear 2 consecutive beeps. Release the power button. During this step you will actually here three beeps. There will be one single beep then a short delay followed by the 2 consecutive beeps. Only release the the power button after the 2 consecutive beeps.
    3. You will then be instructed to plug in a controller, via the usb cord, and press the PS button.
    4. At this point the PS3 Recovery Menu will be shown on the screen.

    [top]Important Note

    If possible, backup all of your data before using any of these features. Any of the following features can eliminate data if they find corrupt files and, some erase data as part of their function.

    [top]PS3 Recovery Menu Options

    1. [top]Restart System

      This option boots your system as normal without changing any settings or files.
    2. [top]Restore Default Settings.

      Restores all default settings on the PS3 for networking, clock, video, etc. For a full list of the restored settings you can look under settings> system settings > restore defaults on your console or you can check out the XMBsection on our site. This should not eliminate your game saves or other saved content, including your user login.
    3. [top]Restore File System

      This will rewrite the files the PS3 uses to boot. This feature will help if files have become corrupted and are not allowing the console to boot as normal. This should not erase any of your saved data or settings.
    4. [top]Rebuild Database

      This can be a usefull feature if you have lost files on your system for no apparent reason. Try using this feature to see if it can restore those files. This will also rewrite corrupted files within the database, potentially eliminating future issues. This feature should not erase any of your saved data or settings.
    5. [top]RESTORE PS3 SYSTEM

      This will restore your system to original including, formatting and erasing all of the data on the HD and returnig all system settings to default. This will not take your system back to a previous Firmware release. Use this option as a last resort, unless you have nothing on the console that you want or you want to erase everything on the console, do not use this option.
    6. [top]System Update

      This will allow the user to update their console with new firmware via a Flash drive or other portable media. This will not allow you to update via an internet connection. This can usefull if your system has become corrupted to the point you can not boot. You will need a portable media device with the correct firmware and in the correct file structure to complete the upgrade. For further information on using portable media to upgrade your system please see our section on upgrading your Firmware.

      (Copied from a website)

  4. #4
    Lvl 5 - Silver
    skatingsam96's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    The Hidden Leaf Village
    Posts
    309
    Reputation
    6

    So that doesn't delete anything but messages? It doesn't delete game saves or anything?

    Sig by Bladia

  5. #5
    Lvl 3 - Bronze
    Black_Alchemist's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    190
    Reputation
    8

    not from my experience it hasn't but i would back up your saves onto a flash drive/cloud to be on safe side

    Created by Prosthetic

    From here on out Blank friend requests will not be acknowledged

  6. #6
    Ghost Assassin
    Danko1900's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Crimson Raiders HQ
    Posts
    828
    Reputation
    13

    I think it might delete playlists that you created, but not the actual media. The only thing that deletes everything for sure is restore. If I remember correctly, when you press an option, it tells you what it will do.

    Edit- So, I'm in the menu right now and rebuild database says: if you rebuild the database, messages, playlists, and other saved information will be deleted.

    Edit2- reading a bit more on the Sony site it says:
    1. Restore File System - Attempts to repair all areas on the hard disk drive where files can be saved. Corrupted data may be erased if it cannot be recovered.
    2. Rebuild Database - Deletes messages, playlists, changes made on [Information] screens, trimming information for pictures in [Photo], video thumbnails, video playback history and video resume information.
      This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.

  7. #7
    Lvl 5 - Silver
    skatingsam96's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    The Hidden Leaf Village
    Posts
    309
    Reputation
    6

    Alright I'll try that and tell you what happens.

    Sig by Bladia

  8. #8
    Ghost Assassin
    Danko1900's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Crimson Raiders HQ
    Posts
    828
    Reputation
    13

    I'm trying it right now, at 10%; it shouldn't delete game saves, but corrupted data can be deleted.

    Edit: So on my 500 gb harddrive it took 5.5 minutes and everything seems to be in order.

  9. #9
    Lvl 5 - Silver
    skatingsam96's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    The Hidden Leaf Village
    Posts
    309
    Reputation
    6

    Just did it and nothing was deleted, worked really well.

    Sig by Bladia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO