Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

PS3 blinking red light during Last of Us.

This is a discussion on PS3 blinking red light during Last of Us. within the General PS3 Discussion forum, part of the Everything PlayStation; So anyway, this is, as far as I can remember, my slim PS3's very first ever blinking red light, while ...

\(^o^)/ (・。・)

PS3 blinking red light during Last of Us.

So anyway, this is, as far as I can remember, my slim PS3's very first ever blinking red light, while playing the Last of Us. Today, while in the middle of the game, the PS3 suddenly shut itself off, and left a blinking red light where the power light was. I switched off the power supply, waited for it to cool down, and then rebooted it up with no problems, so far.

I have already backed up most of my saves, the important ones, onto a thumbdrive as well as my laptop. Now, from your experience, this blinking red light is symptomatic of an overheating problem, yes? I have been using my slim PS3 for 3-4 years with no problems, aside from some games' own freezing problems.

Well, if this blinking red light appears again however long into the future, I will send it into my local game shop for repair, I guess. What are your suggestions on this matter? And oh, for your info, I have also been vacuuming the back of the vent once every week with a mini-vacuum and my PS3 is in a well-ventilated place with aircon, my room. Safe to say, I have been taking good care of it so I would presume.
    | Avatar by In2 | | Sig by Athena |

O_o

It's caught the infection, run!!

Kiwi Defender

I'd say it sounds like a hardware-related issue, but you said it's never happened before, so it might be software-related. Taking that into account, I made a quick Google search to see if anything similar has happened to other people, and here are some results:

ps3 shutting down while playing the last of us - PlayStation« Community Forums