PS3 Freezing.

This is a discussion on PS3 Freezing. within the General PS3 Discussion forum, part of the Everything PlayStation; Alright, I'm ready to throw the system out the window. I recently switched the hard drive in my fat PS3 ...

PRO Member

PS3 Freezing.

Alright, I'm ready to throw the system out the window. I recently switched the hard drive in my fat PS3 from a 160gb to a 500gb, and followed all the steps perfectly. I restored all the files on the system, and everything seemed fine. Then I started playing ICO.

Now, when I boot it up, I get the messages about the "hard drive being corrupted" or "hard drive not found" at least one of every three times. And when it does load up, it freezes, guaranteed, within a half hour of loading. I've done the method of rebuilding the hard drive by holding the power button (I've done this at least a dozen times), and everyone who's tried this says it worked for them. It didn't work for me.

It took four tries to beat ICO before the game would go all the way through the credits without freezing (and that's 35 minutes of gameplay...each time) and now I'm on the speed run. I've done the same Graveyard part about 15 times, and EVERY SINGLE 'EFFIN TIME it freezes before I can get to the couch to save.

Any help? Do I need a new hard drive? A new PS3? Any suggestions appreciated. I'm beginning to hate ICO, and this used to be one of my all-time favorite games. Thanks.
    My PS3 Plats:
    Assassin's Creed II, Batman: Arkham Asylum, Beyond: Two Souls, God of War, God of War II, Heavy
    Rain, ICO, inFAMOUS, inFAMOUS 2, L.A. Noire, Prince of Persia, Prince of Persia: The Forgotten
    Sands, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus, Sly 2:
    Band of Thieves, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves,
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, The Walking Dead: Season One
    My PS4 Plats:
    Apotheon, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, inFAMOUS: Second Son, Murdered: Soul Suspect